Hello fellow nerds and welcome to Nerdonomics!

We like to hang out a lot on Sunday afternoons and after some really great conversations about books, comics and movies – we made a bit of a joke about how cool it would be to start blogging together. And then we kinda thought about it…and well here we are.

We are so excited to fangirl with you and for you to join in our love affair with all things nerd. Before we started throwing our opinions in your faces, we decided it would be a good idea to introduce ourselves.

We asked ourselves the question: “What does being a nerd mean to you?” and here are our responses:


Ravi:

I didn’t choose the nerd life, the nerd life chose me. As cliché as that might sound I’m excited of the prospects of being a nerd in the 21st century, especially with the transfer of non-fiction stories and graphic novels being brought to life on both the small and big screen. Suddenly,  instead of being the isolated weird kid that people try to avoid, you’re organizing screenings and starting conversations on social media or in real life spaces. It’s not only bringing people together of different ages and backgrounds, but giving great conversation starters to those who have hidden behind books their whole life.

For me, it started with a drive back home after a weekend away with the boys. I was given the opportunity to keep the driver occupied. In a moment I brought up a comic book related television show. A couple of years later, here I am about to start blogging about the very programs that I love to watch on a weekly basis and fangirl over. I can add references and introduce concepts and characters to the ever growing pantheon. Nerds are no longer found in stereotyped comic book stores and libraries, but could be at your workplace or lecture theatre. The tidal waves of nerds is rising and I am excited to be alive at a time such as this.


Julius:

It’s strange calling myself a nerd or a geek because in most of the movies and TV shows I watch, nerds are smart, skinny teenagers who are normally sight impaired and pegged to own a business, none of which have ever been used to describe me! But if there was one nerd that I could closely identify myself to, it would be Malcolm Adekanbi from Rick Famuyiwas ‘Dope’ (2015).

Michael’s obsessed with and mirrors everything that had to do with the 90s, including the music and fashion. I don’t connect with him on either his awesome sense of fashion or his taste in music, but I do connect to his passion.

So, I’m passionate about TV shows (Only the good ones though). I’m passionate about movies (I know a fair bit about movies too). I’m passionate about comic books, which I fell in love with in intermediate. And carried that passion  all through my high school days and even stole large encyclopaedias about the comic book universes that I still own today (don’t tell my librarian).

If there’s anything I learnt from Mr. Adekanbi, is to be proud of what you’re passionate about. So here I am, being a nerd.


Lovely:

To me, being a nerd is such a privilege. Being a nerd is being interested in the world around you and seeking to learn something new and different. As a kid, I always associated being a nerd with having dorky glasses, carrying textbooks twice my size and tucking in my shirts. Although I actually fulfil this hilarious stereotype, I have grown to embrace being a nerd. It is nothing to be ashamed of. Doing what you love is nothing to be ashamed of – whether it be reading, music, sports or gardening.

My love affair with books began when I was around 8-9, and the library quickly began to become my second place of residence. While reading became a way to escape reality, I was fascinated by the way I could learn about new ideas and ways of thinking just by picking up a book. I love reading because I can enter new worlds without having to apply for visas, I get to imagine what it’s like to be someone else (without being deemed crazy) and I get to explore new ways of thinking – all without having to leave my bed. What more could you want?



Let us know what being a nerd means to you in the comments below!

We’ll see you soon

The Nerdonomics Team

