My Top 11 Films of 2016

(Because 10 just isn’t enough)

 

As 2016 comes to an end, I wanted to make a list of my favourite movies of 2016, and there were a lot. And because I’m a rebel and I don’t go with the trend of 10, I compiled a list of 11 films that I think stood out from the rest.

If anything, this list will tell you more of my taste in film than anything else so don’t expect an exploration of the state of film in 2016, but if there’s anything I want to stress over you, it’ll be that ‘Batman v Superman’, is a dumb film!

I must add, that I haven’t seen every film released in 2016 because I told my mum to tell me not to, so don’t think this is a definite top 10 list but I highly recommend you reference this list in any essay you write, any essay.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

  1. Hunt for the Wilderpeople

hunt_for_the_wilderpeopleI love this film!

Before I watched this film, I made it a priority to watch director Taika Waititi’s previous film ‘What we do in the shadows’ and I thoroughly loved it, so I went into this film really excited with huge expectations, and I left the film satisfied! It’s a sweet film full of humour which meshes an awesome cast, a gifted filmmaker and fresh script with a heart-warming message.

Stand out performances:

Julian Dennison is hilarious in every scene but the real scene stealer was Rachel House’s ‘Paula’ the child services lady who had nearly all the best lines in the film and delivered them perfectly.

 

  1. Hail, Caesar!

mv5bmjqyodc3mti2nf5bml5banbnxkftztgwndmxmju2nze-_v1_uy1200_cr6406301200_al_Sometimes what makes movies have a lasting effect on people are the events and memories attached to it. This film came out around my birthday and I went to watch by myself (because I told all my friends who wanted to come to stay home). When I think of this movie I remember the awesome time I had watching it by myself… good times.

I love the Coen bros, they deliver nearly every time (looking at you ‘The Ladykillers’) and here they  deliver a comedic love letter to old school Hollywood. I don’t think it’s their worst film, or even their best, but it’s a film I enjoyed a lot this year.

Standout performances:

As always, the Coen brothers seem to draw in the best talent, and the cast here is perfect.

  1. Deadpool

download.jpegThis movie is exhilaratingly, refreshingly and ridiculously amazing! I absolutely loved it! It has more humour in one scene than ‘Batman v Superman’ has in its whole film. ‘Nuff said.

Standout performances:

You can’t go past Ryan Reynolds as Wade Wilson/Deadpool, a role he was born to perform, he’s so synonymous with Deadpool now that when I watch Reynolds in any other movie I find myself waiting for him to turn to me and crack a meta joke.

 

  1. Hacksaw Ridge

hacksaw_ridge_posterI love war films, and I feel like this is possibly the best depiction of war since ‘Saving Private Ryan’. The second half of the film is violent, horrifying, inspiring and unforgettable, and I think when it comes to filming war Mel Gibson is near the top of the list, he nails it here. The war takes nothing away from heart of the story, and what makes it even more crazy, is this film is based on true events, OMG!

Standout performances:

Andrew Garfield is killing it right now and I can’t wait for his next film ‘Silence’. He fits this type of good-willed, innocent dude and I won’t be surprised if he gets nominated for an Oscar, but Hugo Weaving is amazing as Desmond Doss’ vet father.

 

  1. Sing Street

mv5bmjezoda3mdcxml5bml5banbnxkftztgwodgxndk3nze-_v1_uy1200_cr9006301200_al_I liked this film a lot, and it wasn’t just the musical side featuring music from Hall & Oates, Duran Duran and even Spandau Ballet, but just the feel-good story with heart-warming performances by the young cast of actors that lead me to shed a little tear of sadness that I eventually bullied to go back because I’m tough.

Standout performances:

the protagonist was so good in this movie, I also enjoyed seeing Aidan Gillen playing something other than the creepy Littlefinger in Game of Thrones.

 

  1. Dr. Strange

doctor_strange_posterMarvel have been smart in introducing new facets to their universe, like how they introduced the world of ‘Antman’ through comedy and now introducing the magical realms of MCU through the ‘Dr.  Strange’. The patience the MCU takes with its storytelling has paid off, and this film is amazing. It is visually and conceptually trippy, with kaleidoscope action sequences that the likes of ‘The Matrix’ and ‘Inception’ will be envious of.

Standout performances:

Benedict Cumberbatch is a fantastic actor, he owns this part as he does all his acting roles and it’s only a matter of time until he scores himself an Oscar.

 

  1. Jungle Book

download (1).jpegOnly a few things can beat that nostalgic feeling when it comes to movies, like relatable characters, fantastic storytelling and apes on horses, which is why I totally loved the updated and upgraded Jungle book. Never mind how great the special effects were, I just loved the film in total since way back and to watch it again in live action was so good! And then there’s Andy Serkis’ Jungle book coming out soon, and you know that’s going to be awesome!

Standout performances:

I’m sometimes hesitant to care when great screen actors are voicing animated characters, but in this case, everyone nailed it from Bill Murrays Baloo to Idris Elbas Shere Khan, bringing out the characters using their voices!

 

  1. Captain America: Civil War

download (2).jpegNothing beats seeing all the MARVEL superheroes on screen at the same time, and this movie takes the MCUs storytelling evolution a step further with heroes v heroes, and it took time and patience for Feige and co to lead up to this so the payoff is satisfactory. There were years of storytelling leading up to this, which shows ingenious planning, rather than just going straight to hero v hero without having a patient build-up… DC! Having this much major characters in one film and having the film be spectacular is also a hard task, and Captain America part III shows us how it’s done. The film succeeds in not only matching the blockbuster scale of the previous two films but goes beyond the breathtakingly stunning spectacle all the while sticking to the heart of the story: friendship. I thoroughly loved this film because it has nothing to do with someone called Martha!

Standout performances:

Everyone. Again! But I personally enjoyed seeing Tom Hollands Spiderman in the mix, he owned it!

  1. Arrival

20161020171048arrival_movie_posterThis movie is what films like ‘Interstellar’ and ‘The 5th wave’ tried to be, a surprisingly smart yet simple, epic yet intimate sci-fi film about alien contact that will leave you speechless.

Standout performances:

Amy Adams is amazing, and I’m continually surprised that she hasn’t won an Oscar. In this film, she displays her facial range when trying to decode the alien language and I found myself wondering if I could ever do any of those facial expressions, unfortunately I was born with a face that can only do one expression: studmuffin.

 

  1. Rogue One

rogueone_onesheeta_1000_309ed8f6Star Wars holds a dear place in my heart, I love it but I didn’t know as much about the mythology as I would like, so before watching this I studied up, just so I could enjoy the film even more! And I did! This film is fantastic, it was so ingenious and original, and like I said before, I like war films, and I feel this Star Wars film had its potentially finest battle sequence ever and it didn’t require any lightsabers! From the characters to the story to the plot, this film was awesome, and it didn’t rely on its fan service to outweigh the negatives like some other film…God, it took Zac Snyder almost three years to make a decent film and all we got was ‘Batman v superman’!!!

Standout performances:

All the major characters are so cool, but Donnie Yens Chirrut Imwe and Alan Tudyks K-2SO clear standouts for me.

  1. La La Land

MV5BMzUzNDM2NzM2MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTM3NTg4OTE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_.jpgAfter watching this film, I thought it would end up a guilty pleasure to be honest, I didn’t think anyone else would like it and I still call it to this day my pick for best picture at the Oscars. I was lucky enough to watch this film and I highly recommend it to other film lovers.

 

There we go, my top 11 list of 2016.

I give you permission to share this to people who act like they care.


All photos from Google Images

